New board positions for J.P.Morgan, CBA executives

An industry association announced the appointment of a new chair and deputy chair on its board, bringing in C-suite executives from the Commonwealth Bank and J.P. Morgan.

The Australian Financial Markets Association has appointed Robert Bedwell, chief executive of Australia and New Zealand at J.P. Morgan, as its new chair.

Bedwell will succeed John Knox, who announced his resignation as chief executive of Credit Suisse Australia in July this year.  Knox had served as AFMA chair since November 2016.

Bedwell said: "Effective financial markets are central to a successful economy, as they facilitate the saving, investment and risk management activities that propel economic growth and productivity."

"I look forward to helping to guide AFMA's practical and effective approach to supporting efficiency and professionalism in our financial markets.  AFMA's advocacy for public policy and regulation will continue to promote fair, competitive and efficient markets."

Along with this, the AFMA announced Andrew Hinchliff, group executive Institutional Banking and Market, at Commonwealth Bank, has been appointed as deputy chair.

The AFMA has over 130 members and works to promote efficiency, integrity and professionalism in Australia's financial markets, including the capital, credit, derivatives, foreign exchange and other specialist markets.

Read more: AFMACommonwealth BankJ.P. MorganCredit Suisse AustraliaRobert BedwellJohn KnoxAndrew HinchliffJ.P.Morgan
Link to something y82Gcp3O