Industry veterans recognised

A number of financial services industry veterans were recognised in the Queen's Birthday Honours list this weekend.

The 2019 Queen's Birthday Honours included investment professionals, financial advisers, banking professionals and superannuation law specialists, recognising them for their contribution to the industry.

ECP Asset Management's Emmanuel Clive Pohl, better known as Manny Pohl, received the honour for service to the finance sector and to the community.

Kathryn Fagg, a board member for the Reserve Bank was recognised for services to business and finance, central banking, logistics and manufacturing sectors - as well as for her work in elevating women.

Carol Schwartz, who is also on the Reserve Bank board, was recognised as a supporter of women in leadership roles and an advocate for social justice.

Diane Smith-Gander, non-executive director of Wesfarmers and AGL Energy, was also highlighted. She spent 11 years in banking and was head of Westpac's business and technology division. Her service to women's engagement in executive roles and to gender equality was recognised in the honours.

Richmond Football Club president Peggy O'Neal was noted in the honours for her service to superannuation and finance law as well as to the advancement of women in leadership roles.

Founding director of ipac, Arun Abey was honoured for significant service to the financial planning sector and to the community. Abey is currently chair of Walsh Bay Partners, which provides financial advice and wealth management to family offices and endowments. He also acts as director and chairman of finance, audit and risk for The Smith Family.

HSBC's head of crime threat mitigation Paul Jevtovic was honoured for his service to financial crime enforcement and regulation. He was previously chief executive of AUSTRAC.

AustralianSuper alternate director Nixon Apple was recognised for service to the superannuation sector and to trade unions.

SuperFriend founder Helen Hewett was awarded the Order of Australia as part of the honours. Prior to founding SuperFriend Hewett was executive officer of the Industry Funds Forum, advocating for an industry response to suicide prevention and the impacts of mental illness.

President and chief executive of La Trobe Financial, Greg O'Neill received the honour for his service to basketball and business.

Chief executive of the Minderoo Foundation Nicola Forrest was recognised for her philanthropic support of education and arts as well as her service to business.

Read more: Reserve BankAGL EnergyArun Kumar AbeyAustralianSuperCarol SchwartzDiane Smith-GanderECP Asset ManagementEmmanuel Clive PohlGreg O'NeillKathryn FaggLa Trobe FinancialManny PohlNicola ForrestNixon ApplePaul JevtovicPeggy O'NealWesfarmersWestpac
Link to something lzajzSaS