Adviser of the Year finalists named

The finalists for the Association of Financial Advisers' most sought after honours, the Adviser of the Year Award, have been announced.

This year's finalists are Simone Du Chesne of EQWealth, Joseph Hoe of Wealthwise, and Elliot Watson of Elliot Watson Financial Planning.

Watson was also a finalist in the same category in last year's awards.Commenting, AFA chief executive Phillip Kewin said they "have proven themselves to be true leaders of our profession."

In its 16th year now, the award recognises "extraordinary and visionary individual advisers" and finalists are judged on qualities of leadership, innovation, client-centricity and commitment to professional excellence.

Zurich chief distribution officer, life & investments, Kristine Brooks, said this year's finalists are "an exemplary illustration of advisers" who are flexible in the face of industry and regulatory changes, citing the significant changes the financial advice landscape has undergone.

"In today's landscape the ability to demonstrate the value that quality financial advice can play in shaping and protecting the lives of Australian families has never been more important," she said.

"Their leadership and ideologies can forge a path forward for their peers, as we embark on a united journey towards professional standards."

Hugh Robertson of Centaur Financial Services won the award last year. The AFA Adviser of the Year Award is a joint initiative between the AFA and Zurich and represents the peak of achievement and recognition for Australia's premier financial advisers.

Financial Standard is the official media partner for the 2019 AFA National Conference to be held in Adelaide, August 28-30.

Read more: Elliot WatsonAFA National ConferenceAssociation of Financial AdviersKristine BrooksSimone Du Chesne
Link to something 44IJAEa4