Cbus director wins trustee award

Cbus trustee director Dave Noonan has won AIST's 2019 Trustee of the Year Award.

Noonan has been a director since November 2006 and began his career in the construction industry as a labourer and managed union sites in Melbourne.

He is currently national secretary of the CFMEU for the construction and general division.

Cbus chief executive David Atkin said through Noonan's stewardship Cbus is on track to save $100 million in investment costs a year by 2021.

Noonan accepted the award at the Conference of Major Superannuation Funds (CMSF) yesterday and acknowledged industry fund pioneer Mavis Robertson as his mentor.

"His engagement with the fund is an example of industry best practice for the equal representation model," Atkin said.

Former Cbus director Wilhelm Harnisch won the award in 2012.

Separately, AIST added a new director to its board following its annual general meeting held at this week's its Conference of Major Superannuation Funds.

Ros McLennan, a Sunsuper director since 2015, was elected as a trustee elected director. She is the only new director to join the board.

McLennan was previously the general secretary of the Queensland Council of Unions.

David Smith, Naomi Edwards, Louise du Pre-Alba and Suzette Thurman were all re-elected.

AIST President, Catherine Bolger welcomed the new appointees and thanked outgoing directors Michael O'Connor, Debby Blakey and Gerard Noonan for their hard work and commitment to AIST and the profit-to-member super sector.

Read more: CbusDave NoonanConference of Major Superannuation FundsAIST PresidentDavid AtkinRos McLennanCatherine BolgerCFMEU forDavid SmithDebby BlakeyGerard Noonan forLouise du Pre-AlbaMavis RobertsonMelbourneMichael O'ConnorNaomi EdwardsQueensland Council ofSunsuperSuzette ThurmanWilhelm Harnisch
Link to something I4FoyTqq