Statewide chair collects AIST Trustee of the Year
Thursday, 17 March 2016 11:32am

Statewide Super independent chair Juliet Brown has collected the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees (AIST) Trustee of the Year.

Presented the award at the Conference of Major Superannuation Funds in Adelaide, AIST president Angela Emslie said it was great recognition in Brown's home city.

Emslie acknowledged Brown's role in the successful merger of Local Super and Statewide. Brown was formally chair of Local Super.

"Juliet has a strong commitment to the equal representation model and is a fervent advocate for members," Emslie said. "She is well respected by her board, fund staff and peers as well as being actively engaged in the broader industry."

Emslie added Brown had led her fund through a complex merger, and as a testament to her skills, she was invited to chair the merged fund.

Statewide Super chief executive Richard Nunn said Brown has led the organisation through a time of significant change.

"Throughout the merger with Local Super in 2012 and since, she has been single-minded in her focus on the best interests of Statewide Super members," Nunn said.

Statewide Super board members Yvonne Sneddon and Ken Williams both spoke on Brown's behalf at the award presentation.

The Trustee of the Year Award recognises the crucial role that representative trustees play in Australia's $2 trillion superannuation industry.

The AIST considers several criteria for each nomination, including: the degree of personal commitment by the nominee; elements of personal sacrifice to enhance the fund's governance or the standing of the industry; some element of altruistic motivation; demonstration of a strong commitment to the retirement outcomes of their members and/or all Australians; significant contribution to community awareness of superannuation; and a contribution that creates ground breaking change or improvements, or sets the scene for future changes or improvements.

Link to something jJEX5Q8h